Heartsbane Saga

Fairy Tales – with Vikings!

Book 1: Captive and the Cursed

Nyah Llanfaell’s merchant father raised her and her younger sister Payton on tales of treasure and barbarians, but when he returns to Llogeria from his latest trip addle-minded and missing a hand, Nyah must put aside her dreams of adventure and focus on more practical matters, such as securing a future for herself and Payton through her betrothal to Wynne Maddox, the illiterate son of the village toísech. That future is threatened when a roving band of Karjalander barbarians kidnap Payton, and the village leaders, Wynne included, will do nothing to rescue her. Nyah has no choice but to take matters into her own hands. She offers herself in her sister’s place, doomed to travel with the barbarian army as their prisoner.

The army is led by Karjalander warrior Brandulfur Gudrodarson, a man who suffers from a hideous, painful curse that’s been put upon him and his court. Although the official reason he is in Llogeria is to aid his childhood friend Domhnall mac Coiseam in raising an army to support the Llogerian king in the approaching civil war, he’s on a personal quest for the book that holds the cure for his curse – a book that Nyah soon realizes her father stole from his court.

Determined to return to her family, she’ll need all the allies she can get. But she soon realizes no one is who they seem, including the people closest to her. She’ll have to make hard choices if she wants her life to be the same as before, including choosing if that’s what she really even wants anymore.

Book 2: Sleeping Shaman

Book 3: Little Amethyst Abaya

Book 4: Bangesko

Book 5: The Lady and the Lore

Book 6: Sigfrøðr and the Oak Tree

Book 7: Illfuss and the Seven Drottnar

The Musings of E.D. Martin © 2011-2019 Privacy Policy Frontier Theme